14th NLA is scheduled to begin on February 26


The fourth session of the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly is scheduled to begin on February 26, according to a government release. Nagaland Governor La Ganesan has called for the meeting, which will be held at 9:30 am at the Nagaland Assembly Hall in Kohima.

The current Congress has 60 members, all elected from single-seat constituencies. The Northeastern Democratic Alliance, an alliance of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), holds a majority in the House of Representatives with 37 seats (25 NDPP + 12 BJP). The agreement formed a government with Neiphiu Rio as prime minister.

In a notable move recently, Hekani Jakhalu Kense from Dimapur III and Salhoutunuo Kruse from Angami West were elected as the first women MPs from Nagaland to represent the NDPP.

Sharingan Longkรผmer, Speaker of the Nagaland Assembly, NDPP, has assumed office since February 7, 2020. The term of Parliament is five years, which means that if terminated early, the current Parliament will only last until 2028.

Leave a reply

More News

    Secured By miniOrange
    Visitors: 120023